Oak Ridge Wildlife Management Area (ORWMA) 2022 Deer Quota Hunts

Contacts/Resources:

- EMERGENCY: Oak Ridge Operations Center (OROC) Line (865) 576-1005
- For more detailed maps, visit: http://web.ornl.gov/sci/rmal/hunts/index.shtml
- Hunt Status Call Line (Oak Ridge National Laboratory [ORNL] Info Line) (865) 574-9836
- Tennessee Wildlife Resources Agency (TWRA) Check Station (865) 576-2380

<u>Public Warnings</u>: If the public warning sirens sounds return to your vehicle and listen for emergency messages broadcast over radio FM107.7 (WIVK). In this event, keep your vehicle windows closed, turn off air systems, and exit the site.

<u>Dates/Hours (Access vs. Hunting)</u>: All times listed in Eastern Time.

- Scout Date/Hours October 29 and December 3, 2022. Access allowed 7am 4:30pm (TWRA will be available for questions at the check station 8:30 am 12 noon).
- Hunt Dates/Hours November 5-6, 12-13, and December 10-11, 2022. Access allowed 1-hour before sunrise to 1-hour after sunset (hunting allowed 30 minutes before sunrise 30 minutes after sunset).

<u>Legal Hunting Equipment</u>: Archery equipment, muzzleloaders (using 0.36 cal. or larger), and shotguns (using single solid ball or slugs) are allowed in Zone 1 (Archery, Muzzleloader, and Shotgun Zone). Archery equipment will be allowed in Zone 2 (Archery ONLY zone; see current TN Hunting & Trapping Guide for more information on legal hunting equipment).

ORWMA Prohibited Acts: You can only hunt in either Zone 1 or Zone 2 (according to your permit). Nobody can hunt both zones. Do not scout/hunt anytime other than times listed. No handguns are allowed on U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) property or the University of Tennessee Arboretum (UT). Possession of rifle or handgun centerfire ammunition, muzzleloading ammunition smaller than .36 cal., or shotgun ammunition other than single solid ball or slugs is prohibited. Do not bring firearms or archery equipment on scout day. Do not enter safety/security zones, cemeteries, research plots, or bypass closed gates/barricades/road closed signs unless otherwise marked. On hunt/scout days, hunters may ignore the "Keep Out" signs designating the firing range surface danger zone in the New Zion Patrol Road area and "U.S. DOE No Trespassing" signs located within hunt zones. Do not drive motorized vehicles on any field, trail, or non-improved roadway (improved roads have gravel/asphalt; including power or gas line right-of-ways), unless otherwise marked (you may park alongside improved roads). Do not block ingress/egress of any gate, trail, or road. Do not access by water other than at Haw Ridge City Park. It is illegal to shoot from or across roads, and within 100 yards of a dwelling/house. Do not camp or remove any material (metal, plants, artifacts, etc.) from the WMA.

<u>DOE Prohibited Acts</u>: Do not go through a security checkpoint without checking in/out. DOE safety/security zones are subject to the jurisdiction, administration, and/or custody of DOE, which has been designated as subject to the provisions contained in 10 CFR Part 860. Unauthorized entry upon these areas and the unauthorized carrying, transporting, or otherwise introducing or causing to be introduced any dangerous weapon, explosive, or other property, into or upon such facility, installation, or real property is prohibited. Whoever willfully violates the aforesaid regulation shall, upon conviction thereof, be punishable by a fine of not more than \$5,000. Whoever willfully violates this regulation with respect to any facility, installation or real property enclosed by a fence, wall, floor, roof or other structural barrier, shall, upon conviction, be guilty of a Class A misdemeanor, punishable by a fine not to exceed \$100,000 or imprisonment for not more than one (1) year, or both. By authority of section 229 of the Atomic Energy Act of 1954, as amended and 10 CFR Part 860, this facility, installation, or real property has been designated as subject to these regulations.

<u>Bag Limit</u>: Three (3) deer (according to permit: either 1. no more than one antlered, or 2. antlerless only) per permitted hunt (bonus deer). One (1) bearded turkey, in Zone 2 (Archery ONLY Zone). Coyotes may be taken without limit.

Special Regulations: All hunters must abide by all laws and rules in order to retain access for hunting privileges on the ORWMA (owned by the DOE, Tennessee Valley Authority, UT, and City of Oak Ridge). Portions of the U.S. DOE property are managed by ORNL, ETTP, and Y12. Cordial coordination with these and other entities is required and appreciated. Call the Hunt Status Line (ORNL Info) prior to traveling to the WMA for scouting/hunting to verify that the hunts have not been changed/cancelled. Hunters must possess the following: 1. this map signed by the permitted hunter to acknowledge it has been read and understood, 2. TWRA Quota Hunt Permit, 3. Appropriate TWRA Hunt License(s), 4. a photo I.D. (youth excluded), and 5. hunter safety certification proof unless born prior to 1/1/69. All hunters (including archery hunters and non-hunting adults) must wear, on the upper portion of their body and head, a minimum of 500 square inches of daylight fluorescent orange, visible front and back during all hunts and on scout days. If you will be late getting game to the check station, you get locked behind a gate, and/or a gate you think should be opened is closed, call the check station or the phone number listed on the gate. Permitted hunters have approval to hang approved treestands in the proper manner (see TN Hunting & Trapping Guide for more information) during their scout day, but must be removed at the end of their hunt. Call the Check Station for assistance if your wounded harvest travels into a safety/security zone. Game Check Procedure: Do NOT check in your harvest online or by phone. Mark the location of the harvest on this map and bring the harvest to the check station within 1 hour after sunset for game check-in and for radiological contamination monitoring (less than 1% of harvests have been retained due to radiological contamination in recent years). Coyote and turkey harvests must be brought into the check station as well. Hunters are subject to search. Driving on WMA roads are at your own risk and the speed limit of all gravel roads is 15 mph, unless otherwise posted. Juvenile Access Rules: Areas behind security checkpoints (to include areas west of the east guard portal, east of HWY 95, and south of Bear Creek Rd.) are off limits to juveniles under age 16. One non-hunting juvenile (under age 16) may accompany an adult hunter (21 years or older; who has a valid ORWMA quota permit) on approved scout and hunt dates. All hunting/permitted juveniles (age 6-16), must be accompanied by an adult (21 years or older who is not required to have a permit/license) who remains in position to take immediate control of the hunting device. DOE Property Firearm and Crossbow Transportation Rules: Firearms and crossbows in vehicles must be unloaded in both chamber and magazine and cased during transport with the safety on and the action open (whenever possible). Charged muzzleloaders may be transported if the ignition source has been removed/disabled. Safety is Your Responsibility: You are reminded that the land owner and its contractor owe no duty to keep this property or premises safe for entry, nor is any warning required for any purpose. Allowing you to hunt on the property does not give any assurance that the property is safe for such use, does not make you an invitee, and does not mean that the land owner or its agent assumes any responsibility for you or any other person on the property. Under Tennessee law, and otherwise, your safety is your responsibility when you agree to hunt on the property.

"By my signature I agree that I have reviewed the map on the reverse side, understand all the rules noted above, and have inspected my weapon for proper and safe function according to manufacturer's guidelines."

Signature:	Date:
Digitatui C.	Dutc.